The good ole iron

First off, I apologize for not posting since the middle of March.  Between nasty colds and being preoccupied with school things for the kids and other day to day things happening, I haven’t had much time to sit and write, let alone much of anything else getting done.

Onto my post:

Today I was ironing.  Yes, I still do that.  In fact, I quite enjoy the task of ironing.  Seeing things wrinkled or not pressed to perfection, then taking this hot thing and moving it across the fabric and seeing instant smoothness and pressed lines, makes me very happy.

old iron image(This is not me nor is it my iron…which I’m sure no one thought it was,  but it is just a pretty darned cool pic)

Back to the reason why I’m mentioning the ironing part.  I was standing there, ironing away, and the thought came to me!  Talk about ironing!  Well, not ironing because that can be pretty boring, but ironing water!  (Hey, you take your moments of inspiration from wherever they may come from!)

I use ironing water to scent the things I am ironing.  Ironing water is that lovely stuff that scents things as you iron and makes the items smell nice and fresh.  However, there are a couple of issues I have.  Most commercial ironing water is not only not cheap, but it is full of chemicals.  Yuck!  I’m not a chemical kinda girl.  I try and avoid those as much as I can and I’m not going to pay for a bottle full of chemicals that are bad for you.  Solution: Make your own!!!!  The internet is loaded with “recipes” for this, but I will share mine.  It is so easy, you’ll want an EXCUSE to start ironing.  (Maybe not, but I’m trying to inspire some people if need be).

You’ll need:

essential oil of your choice  (be careful of certain oils, ie., orange, as it can possibly stain clothing)

glass spray bottle  (plastic breaks down over time due to the essential oils, but if you’re planning on dumping the remaining water, I’m sure you can use it)

water (preferably distilled or filtered)

Fill your spray bottle with water.  Add approx. 10-15 drops essential oil of choice and shake.  Shake before using and spray on the item to be ironed.  I do section by section of the part I am ironing of the time.

Happy ironing!

Life is simple:  eat, sleep, handmade

~The Gingham Bow

Leave a Reply

